Archive centreWhitehaven
TitleNational Coal Board
DescriptionColliery plans for Broughton Moor, Cleator Moor, Flimby, Harrington, Whitehaven and Workington 1779-1947
Various colliery companies 1868-1954 (reference TNCB 3-4) including Allerdale Coal Company 1917-1954, Cumberland Coal Owners' Association 1868-1948, Moresby Coal Company 1904-1922, and Whitehaven Colliery Company 1922-1951
Cumberland District Coal Mines Scheme 1930
Winscales Central Mines Rescue Station 1926-1954 (reference TNCB 5)
Cumberland Coalfield records 1873-1963 (reference TNCB 6)
Miscellaneous plans 1791-circa 1947 (reference TNCB 7)
ContextThe country's coal reserves were nationalised in 1942 and placed under the control of the Coal Commission. However, the mining industry itself remained in private hands. Many of the coal companies were very small, although the leading to nationalisation saw some consolidation. The National Coal Board (NCB) was the Statutory Corporation created to run the nationalised coal mining industry in the United Kingdom. It was created by the Coal Industry Nationalisation Act 1946, and took over the mines on 'vesting day', 1 January 1947. In 1987 it was re-named the British Coal Corporation, whose assets were subsequently privatised.
Catalogue levelFonds
Subject termsMining
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2020